About CQR

Share on Facebook
Post to Google Buzz
Bookmark this on Yahoo Bookmark
Share on reddit



The Chicago Quarterly Review is a nonprofit, independent literary journal publishing short stories, poems, translations and essays by both emerging and established writers since 1994. We’re proud to have had work from our pages chosen for Best American Short Stories, Best American Essays, the O. Henry Prize Stories and the Pushcart Prize Anthology as we continue our mission to stimulate, entertain, and inspire.

“To mark the 25th anniversary of Chicago Quarterly Review, the fall 2019 issue is appropriately huge, as befits Carl Sandburg’s “stormy, husky, brawling,/ City of the Big Shoulders.” Here, in more than 400 pages, are 32 short stories, 20 poems, a suite of photographs and a dozen works of nonfiction. The result isn’t just a literary quarterly; it’s a tour of the bright and darkling plain we call contemporary American literature.”      –Michael Dirda, The Washington Post

Current issue

Chicago Quarterly Review #33, Spring 2021



Guest edited by Charles Johnson, this anthology of Black American literature features work by: Jeffery Renard Allen * Steven Barnes * Arthur Burghardt * Cyrus Cassells * Louis Chude-Sokei * Aaron Coleman * celeste doaks * Rita Dove * Rachel Eliza Griffiths * Peter J. Harris * Le Van D. Hawkins * Tsehaye Geralyn Hébert * David Henderson * E. Hughes * Charles Johnson * Jamiel Law * Clarence Major * John McCluskey, Jr. * E. Ethelbert Miller * Yesenia Montilla * David Nicholson * Delia C. Pitts * Mona Lisa Saloy * Sharyn Skeeter * Clifford Thompson * Jerald Walker * Jan Willis

Purchase here